top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeremy Moore

04.18.2020 | Project 2 - Setup



Like I mentioned in my last post, I decided to use the photoset taken by Sarah Alstyne. I began the process of setting up my Maya scene and matching my camera by using the focal length and resolution values that I accessed from the photo properties.


I used the cube image first to make sure my camera placement was correct. Then I created a spotlight to be my keylight and used the cube reference image to align my shadow. Once the shadows matched, I knew my keylight was in the correct spot. Then I created a polysphere and scaled it to become my HDR dome. I assigned a Maya surface shader to it, then attached my HDR images as a projection. Once that was done, I switched out the cube reference image with the grey ball reference.



I noticed that the sun had shifted a little between the cube and grey ball references so I tweaked my keylight slightly to match. I used the grey ball reference to ensure the intensity of my keylight is correct based off the size of my specular highlight. I also set up my gound plane to be a bounce by projecting my clean plate reference image onto it from the perspective of my render camera.



I then setup my render layers (beauty, shadow, object occlusion, and ground occlusion). Then I took these images and used them to set up the beginnings of my Nuke node tree.





After I set everything up on Nuke, I was able to make quick adjustments in Maya in order to get a closer result. This is what I currently have. Next I intend to bring my Stanford model into the scene and start experimenting with the aiStandardSurface shader's transmissive attributes. That'll be the fun part. Stay tuned!

12 views0 comments
bottom of page