top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeremy Moore

04.06.2020 | Project 1 - Compositing

Updated: Apr 8, 2020



 

I've matched my Sphere and adjusting the settings for my Render Layers. In addition, I've added more Render Layers for my project. I separated my Occlusion layers in order to make have more precise control over my occlusion shadows. There are also two other layers I've setup, 'PrepforShadow' and 'EnvironmentalShad'. These layers will come into play a little later in order to composite the environment's shadows onto my object, but I rendered them out so that I could already have everything setup in Nuke.


In Nuke, I separate my files into Foreground and Background. I read my beauty, object shadow, and environment shadow into the foreground node and my clean plate, full shadow, object shadow and object occlusion into my background node. Once I've reformated my photo set images, I start by merging (over) my beauty image over the clean plate. Then for my shadow I merge (in) my 'AllShadow' image into my object shadow image. By using this 'AllShadow' image, it gives me a more accurate result and helps avoid having a double shadow. I merge (over) my shadow over my clean plate then color correct my all shadow image and tweak it until I'm pleased with the result. Then for my occlusion images, I use the shuffle node to use the color as an alpha mask. For the object occlusion I simply created color correct node to use as a mask, however for the ground occlusion I created two merge nodes, in and out, with my object shadow image to be able the control the occlusion inside and outside the object shadow. After all my nodes are set up, I simply go into the color correct nodes and keep tweaking according to my sphere reference image. This is what it looks like composited.




However, this isn't the fully composited image. Like i mentioned earlier, I still need to incorporate the environment shadow and that's what I'm currently trouble shooting right now. As you can see, the result I'm getting right now isn't believable, nor is it all that accurate. The first version of my painted environment shadow needs to be refined to get rid of any artifacts and to create a more clear shadow shapes. So I will be working on that. In addition, I'll begin animated my sphere to see how it looks moving through the shadow. Stay tuned!





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page