top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeremy Moore

05.08.2020 | Project 3 - Camera Track


To create my 3D camera track in Nuke, I began by reading in my .mov file and then wrote it out as a .tif sequence. Then I used that image sequence for the camera track. I connected the "CameraTracker [3D]" node, and then began tracking. Then I solved the track and I was given an Error number of 1.21 and wanted to lower the error margin to a value closer to one, so I increased my minimum length to 6 and reduced my Error Max to 5. Then I deleted any red tracker points or points on moving objects and I was able to bring my Error to a 1.02.

In the Camera Tracker node, underneath Export, I created Scene+. Then I connected a WriteGeo node to the newly created Scene node and executed my track as an .fbx file.


In Maya, I imported my fbx file into my scene that I set up in my last post. I grouped my camera and locators. Since I already a camera set up in the correct position, I selected my camera track group and matched its transformations with the camera I already set up. In my tracker camera, I created an image plate and read in my .tif sequence that I used for my camera track in Nuke.


Then I imported my rough chameleon walk cycle and placed him in the scene and was able to approximate how many steps he needed to take to get from one side of the screen to the other. With that, I'm able to go in and bake the animation of the leg and hip controls so that it'll be easier to lock down the feet and keep it from sliding. Below is a playblast of what I have currently.



Additionally I created my basic beauty and shadow render layers so that I could go ahead and set up my composite in Nuke.


I'll continue to set up the rest of my render layers as well as refine my animation. Then I will begin my look development for my chameleon. My goal is to get something in between the look of Tangled's Pascal and Nickelodeon's Rango.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page